Lander wins Gold Rush Days Vintage Base Ball Tourney

The team from Lander won the South Pass City Gold Rush Days Vintage Base Ball Tournament with a 3-2 win over Hudson. Lander team members included Joe Malek, Ray Malek, E.J. Sullivan, Brian Oland, Mat Haller,Nick Scribner, Dalton Crane, Alex Ayers, Hunter Roseberry, Andy Currah and Chris Eagle. Wyotoday photo by Ernie Over

The Vintage Base Ball team representing Lander captured the 2019 Gold Rush Days Championship with a dramatic last inning walk-off base hit to defeat Hudson, 3-2

After hits by Brian Oland and Mat Haller and a walk to Nick Scribner, Dalton Crane stepped to the plate and slapped a single bringing home Oland for the win.

Earlier in the day, Hudson advanced to the finals with a come from behind effort in the 12th inning to eliminate Riverton 5-4, scoring two runs in the inning to capture the trip to the finals. Riverton had taken a 4-3 lead in their last at bat after Tucker Klein came home on several stolen bases, only to see Hudson rally with runs by Jared Mowry and Scott Keele on a long single by Grant Swysink for the win.

The games were played on the baseball pasture in the heart of South Pass City. The uneven infield surface created many hops and bounces of balls hit on the ground. The outfield featured a road behind the bases, a fire hydrant, a signpost, and plenty of sagebrush. Despite the obstacles, most well hit balls were caught but a few outfielders were tripped up trying to snag the fly balls.

For Lander, it was the 10th team win in the 19 years of the tournament. Riverton had won six, and Hudson had won three times. Only the host South Pass City has yet to win a title on their home pasture.

The game is played using 1900-era rules, equipment and uniforms.

Lander’s Brian Oland was the winning pitcher and he scored the winning run.
Wyotoday photo by Ernie Over
Action from the Riverton game as pitcher Johnny Souza of Riverton delivered a pitch right down the center of the plate against Hudson. Wyotoday photo by Ernie Over

Winners by the year:

2001 – Hudson

2002 – Riverton

2003 – Lander

2004 – Lander

2005 – Riverton

2006 – Lander

2007 – Lander

2008 – Riverton

2009 – Hudson

2010 – Lander

2011 – Lander

2012 – Lander

2013 – Lander

2014 – Lander

2015 – Riverton

2016 – Riverton

2017 – Hudson

2018 – Riverton

2019 – Lander

Lander has won 10 times, Riverton 6 times and Hudson 3 times. South Pass City has yet to win.